Mobile Menu
From the organisers of

Your chance to gain a SPAB scholarship – 1 December deadline

11 December 2014
Two of this year’s SPAB scholars at the Natural Building Centre in Conwy – Tom Massey (left) and Eoin Madigan (a stonemason from Ireland).

The Society for the Protection of Ancient Buildings (SPAB) is currently inviting applications for Scholars (architects) and Fellows (skills such as stonemasonry) for its 2015 scholarship programme. Deadline for applications is 1 December.

The William Morris Craft Fellowship for crafts is an advanced training scheme run by SPAB. It is awarded each year to three or four skilled craftsmen or women to further their education in looking after the built heritage of the country.

The training scheme is spread over a year and in that time the successful candidates will be able to widen their experience in a range of traditional building skills, repair techniques, materials and prepare for a position of responsibility in the industry.

The SPAB Lethaby Scholarship for architects, surveyors and engineers has been running since 1930 to further their knowledge of conservation. The nine-month full time programme is intensive but rewarding.

Each year the Scholars travel round the country together, making site visits and meeting expert craftspeople and architects working in building conservation. There is a bursary that will cover all essential expenses but the benefit of the course is the intense learning atmosphere and the skills that the scholars end up with. 

A SPAB Scholarship is an extremely prestigious addition to a CV and SPAB scholars are counted among the leading conservation experts in the UK, looking after some of the foremost buildings in the country.

Some Scholars work in cathedrals. Others look after palaces, National Trust houses or English Heritage scheduled monuments. But whether it is a landmark building or a more modest structure, the SPAB training helps ensure it is maintained to the highest standards of conception and execution.

Don't forget: The deadline for 2015 applications is 1 December.

To find out how to apply for a William Morris Scholarship for craft training, click here.

To find out how to apply for a Lethaby Scholarship (architects, surveyors and engineers), click here.


Share this page